Confidential to my friends taking the bar tomorrow

No not really, they don’t read this! Yes they do, I just don’t have any friends.

I was going through my (several years deceased) grandfather’s papers the other day and came across some letters etc. related to a great-uncle’s job search c. mid 1930s. To hear anyone in [the obviously non-swiss side of] my family tell it, this uncle was the flower of Brooklyn Jewry of the era: a face like Douglas Fairbanks, top of his class at City College, was good to his mother and threw a fastball that broke the sound barrier.

I hadn’t realized before that this uncle had a law degree. I mentioned that discovery to my father. “Sure,” he said. “He couldn’t get work as a lawyer in the middle of the depression, so he taught school for a bit.” Anyway, then he became a fighter pilot, then he got shot down in France right before it was liberated. So even if you fail, you still have options.

-VGB

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

